art / drink / education / Humor / tequila

Jose Cuervo Black Medallion- Discontinued.

Hello all, hope all is well. Hope you are enjoying the spring. Two years ago I blogged about one of my favorite tequila, Jose Cuervo Black Medallion. It was one of those drinks you could enjoy anytime of year. I noticed, when I visited my local and not so local spirit distributor, I could no longer find Jose Cuervo Black Medallion on the shelves.  I would say to myself. “Well, since I’m here, I will get something else, but damn I want some “Meddy” ( that’s what I called it). Hopefully it will be restocked on my next visit.” Sadly, that will never happen. It will never be restocked again, it is discontinued.

I’d strike up a conversation with my spirit guide on my following visit, (the liquor purveyor shop owner, not the spiritual type) and I ask “hey, you guys going to reorder the Cuervo Black Medallion? I haven’t seen it in here in a few months.”  The short balding stocky guy hanging out by the wines, sorting the reds and whites, (insert heavy accent here, anyone you pick, dealers choice) he said “You know, you’re  not the first guy to ask me that, but Cuervo discontinued it.”

With much despair I took the news like I lost a good friend.  I took matters in my own hands and decide to contact the manufacture myself. Here’s Cuervo’s response:

“Thank you for taking time to contact Jose Cuervo. Your feedback is important to
us.

Thank you for your support of Jose Cuervo tequila over the years and for your
devotion to our products. Unfortunately, we regret to inform you that the José
Cuervo Black Medallion is discontinued. We sincerely apologize for any
inconvenience this may cause and we appreciate that you took the time to express
your support for this product.

We value loyal consumers such as yourself and we appreciate your enthusiasm. If
there is anything else we could help you with now or in the future, please do
not hesitate to contact us.

Once again, thank you for contacting Jose Cuervo.

Sincerely,

Gina
Jose Cuervo Consumer Representative

Vive Cuervo!”

I just recently learned of this news, so it is as if I spilled my last beer on a hot spring day. It is a sad, sad day for me. I have loved and I have lost Jose Cuervo Tequila Black Medallion. I know many “drinkers” have shed a tear for the lost of the is delicious spirit! If I shed another tear, it will water down my drink! “Bartender pour me a stiff one! I just lost a friend!” As always Workout, Drink be Merry.

jose cuervo black medallion

Ps, Jose Cuervo as released a “Tradicional Silver” which I will try and review, stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Jose Cuervo Black Medallion- Discontinued.

  1. I loved it too!!!! I’m just discovering on your blog that it is gone. I was researching it because I wanted to get some for the 4th of July. I don’t particularly care for alcohol but I will say that this is the only liquor I’ve ever “loved.” Such despair!

Leave a Reply

