art / education / NEWS

Take 15 minutes and be inspired, I was…

espys 2014 Stuart Scott Keifer Sutherland

Hello all. The 2014 ESPYS Awards were aired last night. I have seen and heard in the media that one of the most memorable moments of the show, was during Stuart Scott acceptance speech, after receiving the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, from Kiefer Sutherland (Jack Bauer) huge fan of “24”, but I digress. Scott spoke of his seven-year battle with cancer, brought many to tears, inspired many.

“When you die, it does not mean that you lose to cancer,” Scott said. “You beat cancer by how you live, while you live and the manner in which you live.” Scott ended his speech by saying “can’t ever give up because I can’t leave my daughters [Taelor and Sydni]… You are my heartbeat. I am standing on this stage tonight because of you.”

 

 

Cancer is a big fear in many people. His strength to stand up to it is inspiring. I’m a husband with a beautiful wife. I’m a dad of two little beautiful girls, and I understand the pain in the thought of leaving them to grow up without their father. My best wishes to Mr Scott and his family.

-Angel Mercado

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

